Renew Europe grows stronger and elects its Presidency

Author: Clara De Melo Ponce



545 A8511

The Renew Europe Group grew stronger today, following the decision of the Group's parliamentarians to accept the membership requests of three further MEPs, Nikola Minchev (PP - We Continue the Change, Bulgaria), Hristo Petrov (PP - We Continue the Change, Bulgaria) and Eugen Tomac (People's Movement Party, Romania), following the arrival of new Belgian MEP Yvan Verougstraete (Les Engagés, Belgium) last week.

This takes the Group membership to 75, with expectations this will continue to grow in the coming days.

The Group also elected its Presidency. Billy Kelleher was elected 1st Vice-President of the Group. 7 further MEPs were elected as Vice-Presidents.

MEPs Svenja Hahn and Sandro Gozi were co-opted as part of the Presidency representing the ALDE Party and EDP.

Commenting, President of Renew Europe, Valérie Hayer, said:

"Renew Europe is growing again, not only in size but in experience and ambition. We now have strong management team that reflects the diversity and talents of our group. Renew Europe is now strongly placed to play a prominent role in the European Parliament and deliver real change."

The Renew Europe Presidency:

President Valérie Hayer (Renaissance, France)
First VP Billy Kelleher (Fianna Fáil, Ireland)

Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy (D66, Netherlands)
João Cotrim de Figueiredo (Iniciativa Liberal, Portugal)
Irena Joveva (Gibanje Svoboda, Slovenia)
Ivars Ijabs (Attīstībai/Par, Latvia)
Morten Løkkegaard (Venstre, Denmark)
Dan Barna (USR, Romania)
Anna-Maja Henriksson (Svenska Folkpartiet, Finland)

Editor's note:

The composition of the group today on 26 June 2024 is as follows:

- Besoin EU, France: 13

- FDP/FW, Germany: 8 (5+3)

- VVD/D66, Netherlands: 7 (4+3)

- Progress SK, Slovakia: 6

- MR/OpVLD/LE, Belgium: 5 (3+1+1)

- DPS/PP, Bulgaria: 5 (3+2)

- Fianna Fáil, Ireland: 4

- V/RV/M, Denmark: 4 (2+1+1)

- USR/PMP, Romania: 3

- Kesk/SFP, Finland: 3 (2+1)

- C/L, Sweden: 3 (2+1)

- Neos, Austria: 2

- Iniciativa L, Portugal: 2

- Svoboda, Slovenia: 2

- RP/CP, Estonia: 2 (1+1)

- LM/FP, Lithuania: 2 (1+1)

- PNV, Spain: 1

- DP, Luxembourg: 1

- Lat. Dev., Latvia: 1

- Pol. 2050, Poland: 1


Stay up to date

Sign up to receive newsletters and communications from Renew Europe

I am a journalist
Subscription categories
* Please note that EN is the main communication language